Death of the Reefs

I am curious to know if this is just part of the cycle(not the fishing net damage). I am not a believer in global warming as a man made issue. I have watched many Nat Geo documentaries where they are pointing out where different levels of the ocean have been throughout history and where coral reefs used to be and now its tree covered terrain. I am far from an expert but I am of the opinion that our planet is ever changing. The fact that our technology allows us to monitor things with greater precision than say 100 years ago has made it easy to see these changes as they are happening. I am not sure we can stop it even if we tried. Damage from chemical run off and nets and of the tons of trash we put in the ocean, that we can change. But I dont think thats the only cause to everything bad that happens in the ocean. Lets just hope its a short lived issue and the reefs begin to heal.

I think "people" are smart enough, that there is a good chance any man-made issues can/will be resolved with time (acidification/global warming). It's the natural disasters that are really making it difficult on mother nature. I can't speak for Indo-Pacific areas, but the Caribbean seems to be getting it's butt kicked right now. Our trip to Cozumel was a huge disappointment. It's been several years since the last hurricane, and I saw 2 stony corals on our dives. 2! Then the keys were blasted with this winter's cold shock, killing thousands upon thousands of corals (as I've been told, anyway). Ken Nedimeyer had supposedly been doing an awesome job with his work with staghorn corals (raising over 4000 colonies), and I think it's mostly dead as well.