Possable Berlin skimmer mod *pics*

I've been running a modded Berlin for about 6 years on my 75G. This is what I did:
1) Unscrew original inlet barb and remove the venturi cone inside.
2) Plug up original air inlet
3) Replace inlet barb and install a 3/4" external venturi inline with the output of a real pressure pump. I use a Little Giant 3MDQ-SC.
4) Make sure you have a valve on the output of the pump to control water flow.
It's a simple mod and really makes the skimmer work well. The smell and color of the skimmate resemble that of my 5 foot tall ETSS 1000 on my 125G SPS tank.

D your right it's not really a mod. It's more like a rebuild. The reason I used the Berlin was so I didn't have to make the cup and stuff.

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6272496#post6272496 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by RichK
3) Replace inlet barb and install a 3/4" external venturi inline with the output of a real pressure pump. I use a Little Giant 3MDQ-SC.
4) Make sure you have a valve on the output of the pump to control water flow.

This is what I did about 3 years ago, but I'm using a mag9.5. Works exceptionally well, comparable to many of the high dollar skimmers I've seen.

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6271893#post6271893 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by GSerg2
I did what sumphead is talking about. Here is a pic if you are interested...

Skimmer3.JPG

Any updates Greg? Did you get it in service? I'm sitting here trying to decide what to do about a skimmer and I have a Berlin screaming to do this too.

When I used to sell motorcycles...

"You want your bike to go faster? Easy, just unscrew the gas cap, drive a new motorcycle under it, screw it back down. No problem."

Sounds good. Do you think it would work better with a larger main tube for less turbulence? It wouldn't be hard to do a funnel to the top of the Berlin. Of course this is easier. Any pics of it in operation? Video?