Teco for a reef control?

eodmike

Hey I am a Controls Engineer. Basically that means I am a jack of all trades. LOL. My responsibilities are electrical, combustion, hydraulics, pneumatics, and programming. So I sort of figure I could make a hell of a DIY reef controller. The problem is selecting a base to start from.

At work we build super complex systems and because of that we use full featured Omron, Siemens, and Allen Bradley PLC's. I'm most proficient with RSLogix 5000. Anyways although no one would dispute with one of these as a backbone you could do anything but the problem is that they cost a small fortune.

So I'm thinking a PLR (Programmable Logic Relay) would be a good start. The Teco Genie II seems to be a good start. The base processors come with 20 I/O and HMI. If you added all the expansions possible to 1 relay you would have on top of the 20 I/O another 24 digitial I/O, 8 analog Out, 4 PT100 in (basically a temp reader), and 4 analog in.

Seems like a good start! Anyone have a comment on this path? Anyone try something similar.

Ideally I would like to do the following:

-Auto Water Change
-Feed Mode
-Light On/Off (I have a IceCap 660's running T5's so not able to dim)
-ATO
-Temperature Control
-Dosing

So what do you think? BTW once I decide what I'll go with as a platform I'd be happy to keep a log of what I have working and not working.

Hi EodMike,

I too used to be in controls, so if it was me id be looking to use anything i could get for free, whether it be surplus from work or given as a favour etc.
However from the logic relay you have mentioned you will have no problems setting up a controller. So long as you can expand it later, as this project WILL get bigger, beleive me.

PLC's run bulletproof so i would just build in redundacy into the project by mechanical and seperate systems. IE 2 solenoid vavlves in series on your ATO output incase one fails open, a seperate timer to allow the ATO to run only for a small time period each day etc.