2-3 Week old 15 gal nano

Ralph Van Hee

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to marine aquariums, but I always wanted one. I've had my fair share of experience with freshwater but about 3 weeks ago I finally decided I'd get a saltwater tank.

I ended up buying a new tank for my freshwater fish/inverts and used the 15 gallon they were previously in to set up my to be reef tank. Currently it has; 4.5 Pounds of live rock, 6.5 more arriving tomorrow.
1 Ocellaris clownfish that my girlfriend insisted on naming 'Nemo' (because originality is overrated)
1 Elegance Coral, about 10 cms when fully open. (I tried to be patient but couldn't help myself)
1 Halloween hermit.
1 Banded trochus.

So far the water parameters have been stable pretty much all the time, about a week ago my rocks started getting covered in coralline algea, that seems to be spreading pretty fast. The first week I tested my parameters twice a day, after that 2 times a week, with my water changes which i'm doing at 30% pretty frequently at the moment just in case anything starts building up. Temperature is stable at about 26.5 °C (79.7 °F)

As far as equipment and technical stuff goes, I haven't got a sump but a 200/L per hour filter, that's about 53 US gallons/hour. A 300L/ per hour pump (80 US Gallons/hour), A decent heater which I have a spare of in case it breaks, ofc an RO/DI unit and I use Red Sea Coral Pro Salt, at a salinity of 1.026

I'll link some pictures below, if you see anything 'red flaggish' I'd really appreciate it if you'd let me know :) Like I said I'm pretty new to this, but I think it's going reasonably well so far. Nemo eats out of my hand and the I feed the elegance about 2 times a week, I also heard coralline algea grows when your water quality is decent so that's probably a good sign as well.