Newbie Wheelchair user, need advice!

raustinreese

Hello everyone! My name is Austin, I have wanted a saltwater tank for about 15 years but I was active duty military and I could never devote the time to make sure I kept my hobby and investment living. In 2013 I suffered a Military Freefall (skydiving) accident and I am now paralyzed. I have been doing a ton of research and trying to figure out what the best setup will be for me so I can do most everything myself. I would really like to have a tank between 30-90 gallons and I want to do a Reef (live coral) and Fish tank. Any help would be extremely helpful. I am starting from scratch so I don't have anything yet!!

-Austin

Good luck! I imagine you will have some of the same issues as short people like me! I’m new to this reef tank thing, so no great advise, just encouragement. Being short all my life, I’d say to make sure you set things up so you can reach over and to the bottom of the tank. Big mistake I made when I had when I kept fresh water fish is a tall hexagonical tank. It was beautiful, but I couldn’t keep it clean.

Can you make or have made a short stand? And/or start with a large frag tank, they are shallow.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Welcome! All I can say is that I have a low-tech 33 gallon long that I absolutely love because it's only 12 inches deep and 12 inches wide (by 48 inches long). I find that to be a great, easy to reach size. I am not paralyzed, but I can easily kneel on the floor and still reach in and work inside the tank. I'm 5' 5", so I've got a short reach.

Good luck!

austin i would say maybe running a longer shallow frag tank looks great and would give you access to clean it and aquascape it best of luck post build pics when you get it going

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So sorry to hear about your injury and thank you very much for your service to this country!